Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D – Is Agent Coulson a Doll?

AGENTS of S.H.I.E.L.D  "The Well" Agent Coulson in TahitiDid I fall asleep?

For a little while.

Don’t tell me you can hear those words without hearing the words that defined the Dollhouse universe echo through your brain. Especially when the same writers are involved.

At this point we’re pretty sure Coulson’s not a robot, but maybe he’s a doll. Okay, I’m 99% sure they’re not going to bring the entire Dollhouse mythology into the Marvel Universe, but what if they bring in some of the technology and ideas that were sparked there? Wouldn’t that be neat?

At the very least – if we get Topher, or Fran Kranz in any capacity I’d be down.

What do you think about this blatant Dollhouse reference in regards to the Tahiti situation? 

13 thoughts on “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D – Is Agent Coulson a Doll?

  1. “Dollhouse universe echo” Echo i see what you did there… ya as soon as he said that I shouted “damn you Whedon”. Tahiti, it’s a magical place.

  2. I am SO GLAD other people thought about this. The instant Coulson said “did I fall asleep?” I was so excited. I would be really into it if Coulson ended up being a doll. That seems like exactly the kind of Tech S.H.I.E.L.D would have and keep under wraps. I think it’s a better twist than if he were a robot or some such thing. I hope they continue with that. Such a direct reference couldn’t have simply been for the lolz. Hopefully…

  3. OK, the moment agent Coulson asked: “Did I fall asleep?” and I was like: “For a little while.” And than the chick said it and I’m like… OMG!!! Coulson’s a doll!!! Wicked cool!

    So yeah. Such an obvious reference in my mind serves two purposes.

    1. To prepare the majority of Dollhouse fans watching the show that, yes, there is a possibility that in fact Phil Coulson is a doll.

    or

    2. The writers are just playing with us and when they do reveal what Coulson really is, they’ll be like… haha… we got you there. You totally thought that he would turn out to be a doll. Or in other words, it’s to distract us from the actual thing Phil will turn out to be.

    Well, those are my thoughts at least. But still I like crossovers like this. It makes for a nice continuity. And even if Dollhouse is over, we can still see it alive in references like these *smile*

    • He has so got to be a doll. My theory is that they were able to keep his body alive but he was brain dead just like Paul. So they imprinted him. This is a great twist and maybe it will finally get my brother to watch Dollhouse! It just can’t be a coincidence…

    • My reaction and feelings were exactly the same!! Any other explanation or guess has been rubbish so if he’s not a doll they really are gonna have to come up with something brilliant…

  4. Remember when they said “blue skies, baby” just like Echo in that one episode of Dollhouse where Echo is a spy but gets remote wiped?

  5. Coulson must be a doll. But since it’s his body, scared and healed, they must have downloaded him, let his body heal while in a coma, and then reimplanted his mind into the body. Either the dollhouse and Marvel are the same universe or Topher was blown into the Marvel universe.

  6. I agree, it is completely possible to introduce the tech into the marvel universe. And could even be seen as a prequal for dollhouse…or the other way around… Even the phrase where Tahiti is a beautiful place being used over and over, dolls had responses that were programmed in all the time. It would have gone unnoticed by Coulson if the trigger questions hadn’t been asked so many times. But him just being a doll wouldn’t explain why they didn’t just tell him… So maybe Fury has removed or added something that he doesn’t want Coulson to know about…

    I love that the moment he said “did I fall asleep?” I was saying “For a little while” at the same time as the woman. Just couldn’t help it. So was pleased to find she actually said it.

    Will not be getting my hopes up too much though, could just be that coulson is a fan of dollhouse and that was a nightmare due to him knowing something is different…

    Really hope that Dollhouse fans are one step ahead of the Marvel fans though…

  7. I got a Dollhouse vibe every time he repeated the phrase “Tahiti, it’s a magical place.” It just sounded…hypnotic…like a doll.

    I don’t think the writers are going to directly reference anything from the Dollhouse universe exactly, but they probably thought the technology would fit in this context well. And for us Dollhouse fans, it truly does.

  8. Pingback: Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D Doles Out Dollhouse Easter Eggs (and Agent Carter Clues?) | The Viewing Party

  9. Oh man, so glad I’m not the only one who noticed this. I laughed at first, thinking it was just a coincidence, then freaked out when I realized Joss Whedon works on both shows.

Leave a Reply

