S Attempts to Accept the Glacial Pace of Booth/Brennan Coupledom – Bones (6×16) The Blackout in The Blizzard

We’ve had a number of episodes where the team has been stuck in the Jeffersonian for one reason or another and must solve a case while inside. This time the building has shut down (and lost power) due to a massive blizzard that hit Washington. I’m attempting to approach this review without sounding too bitter towards the show, I continue to enjoy Bones week to week, but the lack of progress is starting to get to me (and after 6 seasons I’d like to think I’ve had the patience of a TVshipper saint!).

This week Booth/Bones fans were given a tidbit, an explanation for the glacial paced movement of their relationship despite them both being single and both having acknowledged romantic feelings for one another.  They were stuck in an elevator together, over the seasons the pair have been more willing to actually discuss their feelings with one another, and after some light nudging by Sweets (which was pretty much his entire purpose this episode), Booth and Brennan sort of had a discussion about the state of things. First deciding that they would be highly compatible for sex, but a relationship wouldn’t work, later they conclude that they are on their way to be able to be in a relationship together, but they just aren’t quite there yet.

I found the final scene when they promise each other eventually to be sweet, and oddly satisfying despite the feeling that eventually will be too far off for fandom to take. I always love scenes in Bones at the end of an episode where Booth and Brennan are off the case and sharing a meal together, there is something calming and sweet about it. Maybe that’s why “The Blackout in the Blizzard” didn’t leave me completely soured by the lack of major progress, tricking me with a simply sweet final scene. They make a promise by writing down a date, and Bones allows herself to participate in a ritual that isn’t concrete science because it is important to Booth – baby steps.

“A time could come when you aren’t angry anymore, and I’m strong enough to risk losing the last of my imperviousness. Maybe then we could try to be together.”
“I am going to write down a date.”

Brennan feels like she isn’t strong enough yet to be in a relationship. She knows that she has shortcomings in the way of her emotional ability to hold a real relationship. She has grown considerably over the five seasons of Bones, enough to recognize these faults and begin to build herself up and become stronger, lose her imperviousness and let people in.  Her reasoning reminds me of a speech that David Boreanez has been through before, as Angel in season 7 of Buffy. Buffy is like cookie dough that isn’t finished baking, she isn’t ready for a grown up relationship, but when she is she promises to keep Angel in mind. Although Bones is a little older and uses a more eloquent vocabulary, the concept is eerily similar.

Because, okay. I’m cookie dough. I’m not done baking. I’m not finished becoming whoever the hell it is I’m going to turn out to be. I make it through this and the next thing and the next thing and maybe one day I turn around and realize I’m ready. I’m cookies. And then, you know, if I want someone to eat m- or enjoy warm, delicious cookie-me, then that’s fine. That’ll be then. When I’m done.” – Buffy (Buffy the Vampire Slayer “Chosen” 7×22)

I found myself satisfied with the resulting conclusion Bones and Booth came to at the end of this episode, but only as a place holder. If something real doesn’t go down soon I don’t know how much longer I can be patient with this marathon will they won’t they.

I’m still completely Team Wendal! When will be become a permanent fixture in the lab? He is by far the most interesting and competent of all the rotating squinterns going in and out every week. Having him play king of the lab with Hodgins this week made all the annoying baby drama almost bearable.

The case of the week was pretty unimportant except it kept the squints busy with something to do while being trapped in the Jeffersonian. It also allowed for some fun McGuivering of lab equipment and a ton of spud jokes to solve the case.

I want so badly to love this show again, it’s just been putting annoying little speed bumps like baby drama my path. I’m almost at the end of my rope with the will they/wont they that the show seems to hold so dear, there’s only so long I can love the tension before it turns stale.

Do you think the show will ever allow Booth and Brennan to be together? Do you want them to get together or just leave each other alone already? Are you excited for the birth of Hodgins and Angela’s new baby, will they be funny or insane parents? I’m sort of guessing a combo.

I’m still excited for the next new Bones after a few weeks off “The Feet on the Beach”

2 thoughts on “S Attempts to Accept the Glacial Pace of Booth/Brennan Coupledom – Bones (6×16) The Blackout in The Blizzard

  1. Pingback: Who’s Ever Heard of a Forensic Podiatrist? Only in Canada – S on Bones 6×17 “The Feet on the Beach” | The Viewing Party

  2. Pingback: Why the Timing Was Finally Right(ish) for Booth & Brennan: Bones 6×22 “The Hole in the Heart” | The Viewing Party

Leave a Reply

