J on the Explosive Bomb Girls Season Finale, 1×06 “Elements of Surprise”

Wow!  The season finale of Bomb Girls was absolutely chock-full of drama, excitement, tension, and heartbreak.  Secrets were revealed, loyalties questioned, and decisive steps taken that shook up the lives of our favourite Victory Munitions workers.  By the end of the episode, we were left with many unanswered questions but also with an affirmation of the strength and courage of the Bomb Girls ladies.  That being said, I am VERY pleased that this was just the season finale, not the series finale, and I am eagerly anticipating (see: I can’t wait, I can’t wait!!!) the second season.

Gladys and James in the season finale

There is certainly a lot to talk about when it comes to “Elements of Surprise”: Vera is released from the hospital and must decide whether to return to work at the munitions factory; the appearance of Kate’s frightening and abusive father leads her to question her life choices; Betty grapples with her love for Kate and desire to protect her; Lorna faces the terrifying reality of an unwanted pregnancy as well as her relationships with Marco and Bob; Gladys is faced not only with Lorna’s attempts to sabotage her, but also with the prospect of James enlisting in the war; and to top it all off, Pearl Harbour is bombed.  So…not exactly a light episode.  However, I really appreciated that all these events, which range from mild to extreme on the catastrophe scale, were addressed with respect, gravity, and care by the creators and actors of Bomb Girls.

I can’t address all the good things in this jam-packed episode, but some of my favourite parts were seemingly minor moments or lines that actually had great significance to the characters.  For example, when Betty and Lorna are trying to convince Vera to come back to work rather than return to her parents’ home, Betty tells Vera, “we all have our scars”.  It’s almost a throwaway line, but it says so much about Betty and the other characters on the show.  We know Kate has physical scars on her back from her father’s abuse, but Betty herself probably carries the scars of never fitting in, never being socially acceptable (as seen by the debacle with the propaganda film, which invented a life story for her).  By the end of the episode, Betty’s scars are externalized by the nasty black eye given to her by Kate’s father; it’s a representation of the fact that her secret (i.e. her sexuality) has been revealed for all to see.

And since I’m on the subject of Betty, I must devote some space to her storyline.  After watching her slowly begin to trust, admire, appreciate, and love Kate over the course of the season, the results of her actions in the finale are upsetting to behold, to say the least.  Seeing an opportunity to make her feelings known to Kate in Leon’s bar, Betty tenderly presses her lips to Kate’s palm and then leans in for a kiss full on the mouth.  This goes horribly wrong and Kate reacts with shock, anger, fear, and repulsion.  The characters’ ease with each other is transformed into awkwardness and discomfort in a split second, thanks to the great performances of Ali Liebert and Charlotte Hegele.  Betty protests until Kate calls her disgusting, after which we see her face crumple before she rushes out.

Despite this emotional blow, Betty is prepared to defend Kate from her father.  Their last scene together is made even sadder because the Kate that we have come to know as a sweet, determined, hard-working, fun-loving woman has all but vanished.  She responds to Betty as if she has once again been brainwashed, spouting the language of sin and subservience like an automaton.  For Kate, the rooming house and factory no longer represent safety, but rather an unstable world where things aren’t as they seem.  She is in no way ready for Betty’s actions, and they scare her into returning to the doctrine of her father.  In a way, it’s understandable that this would be her default reaction when something frightening happens because she has lived with that worldview for the majority of her life.  Though earlier in the episode she incredulously says to Gladys, “you honestly think your father would rather hurt you than see you happy”, she herself is once again victimized by her father and can’t escape that pattern of abuse.  All I can say is, poor Kate!  She has nothing but cruelty and loneliness to look forward to.  Until Betty and Gladys rescue her, that is.

Betty and Kate in happier days

I found Betty’s tearful confession of love in the hallway to be one of the most moving moments of the episode, not just because of her sadness but because of Kate’s reaction as well.  This is pretty much the only time we see Kate’s steely, machine-like composure break.  Her expression is not one of disgust or anger, but one of sorrow and compassion, pleading Betty with her eyes not to make it harder than it already is to leave.  That one look gives me hope that when Betty finds Kate (because she has to, right?), they will be able to slowly rebuild their relationship with the trust and affection that we have seen throughout the first season.

I love that Gladys has probably been aware of Betty’s sexuality for some time (at least since episode 5) and is totally supportive of it.  All Betty tells her in the final scene is that Kate left, but Gladys clearly knows the full import of this statement.  Their grudging association has turned into a beautiful friendship, and we get the feeling that nobody would dare mess with them as they stroll arm-in-arm to work.  Gladys, facing the fact that she may never see her fiancé again, is still strong and capable and ready to stand by her friends.  Yay, Gladys!

It was also a very interesting decision to end the season with a shot of Betty’s legs marching up the ramp to the factory.  Thinking back to the first episode, the entire series opens with a shot of an anonymous woman’s legs, about to carouse with a bunch of randy soldiers.  Whereas this is a representation of the fundamental objectification of women – one in which sexuality is a woman’s main asset – the series has rightly and refreshingly shown women to be so much more that that.  In the final shot, the legs aren’t anonymous: we associate them with Betty, someone who shows that women can be strong, sassy, loyal, vulnerable, sexual, brave, and heartbroken without becoming an object.  Women are the SUBJECTS of Bomb Girls and that’s a large part of why it is such a great show.

Other things:

  • I love Vera’s character, and I thought they dealt with her post-traumatic reaction on the factory floor really well.
  • I’m hoping for a blossoming friendship between Betty and Leon.  They’re both cool and they both care for Kate…plus I get the sense that Leon may have had his suspicions about Betty’s feelings for Kate.
  • Lorna, you’re in trouble one way or another, girl!
  • Betty, on seeing James and Gladys making out in front of the factory: “hold onto your tonsils, Princess!” Haha!

Okay, it turns out I mostly talked about Betty and Kate, but what did you think of that or other aspects of the finale?  And what are your theories for season 2?  Will James survive the war?  Will Betty and Gladys find Kate?  And what’s going to happen with Lorna, Bob, and Marco?  We love to hear feedback, so feel free to share your thoughts and feelings!

This entry was posted in Bomb Girls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to J on the Explosive Bomb Girls Season Finale, 1×06 “Elements of Surprise”

  1. Anonymous says:

    I enjoy your reviews/recaps of Bomb Girls. When I first heard about the show, I had a hard time finding videos to watch since I live in America and can’t watch it directly from the GlobalTV site. I have since been able to catch up, but I still enjoy reading your observations about the characters. I, too, am very anxiously awaiting season 2 and hope that the show won’t drop the ball with their characters or storylines now that they’ve been given more time to play. My main concern is with my favorite “couple” – Betty and Kate – because though I find them adorable and worthy of support, I don’t want the writers to fumble how they’ll get them back together as friends and, hopefully, more. On American TV, at least, we get a lot of stories where one or both women is unaware of her sexuality and it’s common to see a “friendship” story become a love story without ever really making the audience totally believe the transformation or the characters’ actions, attitudes. So far, Bomb Girls has been pretty perfect with Betty and Kate and my only “issue” would be that Kate (as happens a lot) is the character whose POV we haven’t really seen and given her religious background and innocence overall, I wonder how the writers will deal with her response to Betty now that all the cards are on the table.
    I did find the dialog after the kiss intriguing:
    Kate – “What do you think I am?” and “That’s disgusting. And if you don’t know that, you’re disgusting too!”
    Is it possible that this issue has been addressed before in her life, and those words thrown at her by her father? I just wonder what acts of “rebellion” she committed to earn all those scars; of course, I don’t think anyone could earn or deserve that and perhaps her father needed no excuse, but there is a possibility that his reason might be revealing.
    I want to know more about this, but also Betty’s background, her “scars” as it were. Did she leave home willingly, or was she forced to leave? Has she put her heart on the line with another woman before or is Kate the first? There was a moment in one of the bar scenes where another woman gave Betty the patented head nod of recognition, one “sister” acknowledging another. Was that all it was? Do they know each other more intimately? It looked like Kate saw the look; were we intentionally meant to notice that?
    Sorry to ramble so much, but I haven’t really discovered a place to talk about BG yet, so you’re getting an earful. Again, thanks for covering the show. I appreciate your time, effort and thoughts and in case you didn’t know, the Bomb Girls official Facebook site has a link to your finale review.

    • Thanks so much for your comments and kind words! We love a good discussion about Bomb Girls, so I really appreciate your response.

      I can definitely understand your desire for the show to build Betty and Kate’s relationship without simplifying or fumbling it, but everything I’ve seen so far demonstrates that the creators of Bomb Girls are aware of these dangers too. In fact, there was a great interview with one of the co-creators Michael MacLennan (check it out here: http://www.afterellen.com/TV/an-interview-with-bomb-girls-co-creator-michael-maclennan) where he basically says he believes in honouring the characters…and that means not rushing into anything. It wouldn’t be believable if suddenly they got together romantically without explaining any of the fears and concerns they both probably have now. I agree that we haven’t seen as much of Kate’s POV as we have of Betty’s in terms of her sexuality, and as McLennan says “she’s coming from a doubly and triply oppressive world” which probably makes any kind of sexuality difficult to say the least (think of her father’s reaction not only to Betty but to Kate when she glances at a man in the first ep). But I have hope that if/when Betty & Kate’s relationship develops into a romance, it will be handled with care!

      Your suggestion that maybe Kate has had like words “disgusting” (or even “deviant”?) thrown at her is also intriguing and totally possible. And what do you think of Kate saying “I was seduced”? Pretty strong and sexually frightening language as well, no?

      And as for Betty, I would love to find out more of her back story in season 2! I think it’s more obvious that she likes ladies from the beginning, but I also kind of get the feeling that she’s never fallen for someone the way she falls for Kate. Of course this is all total speculation, but she seems to be acting on impulse when she kisses Kate. She gets what she sees as encouragement and just goes for it, not perhaps thinking of the possible consequences or whether it’s the best time in Kate’s life to make her feelings known. I actually see her side of the relationship as very innocent too…we watch as Kate gets under her skin and Betty grows to care for her more and more. Throwing the question back to you, do you think Betty has had some romantic experiences in the past, or is Kate her first love? Also, what did you make of Leon giving Betty and Kate some space at the piano and then watching Betty storm out? Do you think he had an inkling of what was going on?

      That was a long response as well, but I just have so many Bomb Girls feelings! And one of them is a little rush of Canadian pride that this show is finding some American viewers! Thanks again for starting the discussion.
      -J

      • Charlotte says:

        Thanks for replying. I definitely think Betty acted on impulse, after getting what she interpreted as many encouraging signals from Kate, culminating with the piano massage and conversation. On one hand, I do think maybe Betty hasn’t risked acting on her feelings before, and at times I even wondered if she were totally aware of what was happening herself. Is this the first time she has confronted these feelings head-on?

        As you said about Kate having a vague idea of a husband in her future, I wondered if Betty was also operating less as a woman who knows she likes other women, and more as a woman who has an image of herself as independent, self-reliant, etc., with no man in the picture to take care of her.

        However, when she told Gladys that her “secret was out,” that sounded more like something she has known, accepted about herself for a while. Also, I point again to the non-verbal exchange with the other woman in the club as evidence that she either knows that woman, or is used to getting that type of acknowledgement. Also, in the same scene, when Gladys said Betty’s friends were “hep,” Betty was defensive at first until Gladys explained what that meant. That read to me like Betty was afraid Gladys was calling her out about her difference.

        I’m not sure about Leon. You would have to think that he’d be blind and deaf not to have understood the scene between Betty/Kate, but I’m ambivalent about whether he suspected anything about them, or just Betty, before. However, his exposure in the club scene probably means that he’s seen just about everything and would make a good sounding board for both Betty and Kate in the future.

        I did find the exchange between Kate and Leon about music loaded with subtext.
        Kate (paraphrasing): What kind of music is that?
        Leon (paraphrasing): Why are you always trying to define things?
        Kate (paraphrasing): I like to know what I like.

        I also found it interesting that Kate was quick to accuse Betty of prejudice about Leon; so in some ways, Kate is already thinking a little more liberally than her background would suggest.

        I have read that interview with one of the writers; that is actually how I heard about the show. His comments were great and inspired confidence, but I just feel kind of wary overall by a lot of the stories told on American TV. This is really my first exposure to Canadian series television, so hopefully it won’t be a letdown.

        I wanted to also mention that I’m enjoying the other stories as well. I was primed not to like James after his indiscretion with Hazel, but have actually found myself enjoying the way he and Gladys get past their anger and work things out and support each other.

        I also appreciate the complexity of Lorna, at once sympathetic but also a semi-villain at times. She is kind to Betty and perhaps also knows her secret, but her actions with Gladys were wrong.

        Charlotte

        • I agree with pretty much everything you’ve said! Kate is an interesting character in that she’s very open-minded about some things, but simultaneously can’t let go of that religious indoctrination she’s had forced upon her for all those years. As you say, Betty too has some of those apparent contradictions: at times it seems she’s totally aware of her sexuality (think the woman in the bar, her “secret” coming out, and the film made about her that singles her out as different) but at other times it seems like she’s discovering it as she discovers her feelings for Kate. I guess all the characters are complex and many-sided, which is a good thing!!

          And yes, I really like the other storylines as well. :) I think Gladys and James have really progressed as a couple and as individual characters. They both kind of push each other to be better people. Like you, I was so-so about James to start off with, but now I quite like him! Although I think there’s a good chance he’ll end up dead or injured. Also, do you think Gladys’s airman is going to make a reappearance in season 2?

          What are your thoughts on Vera? I have really loved her storyline throughout the whole series and I think she is awesome.

          Thanks, Charlotte, it’s so great to have this kind of discussion!

          • Charlotte says:

            I like Vera, but I honestly can’t really comment on her storyline overall because I’ve only seen episodes four through six, entirely.
            When I first heard of the show, it was the interview that was Betty/Kate-centric, so when I you-tubed the series I saw three Betty/Kate compilation videos and watched them. There was quite a bit of Gladys, since those three are often together, but not as much Vera, Edith or Lorna.
            I have since gone back and tried to watch episodes one through three, but the sites I’m trying to stream from have been slow to the point of causing me to give up. It’s also possibly my connection at times.
            I will keep trying to watch them.
            As to Gladys’ airman … it’s quite possible he might show back up, and we’ll see how they handle that with James gone. I hope they stick with a focus on the ladies and not try and show war stuff, beyond how that affects the main characters and their day-to-day lives. I do hope James isn’t killed!
            I have noticed a couple of new things in the last three eps, though (which I was able to download for repeated viewings)…
            1. There’s a woman in “drag” who appears briefly behind Betty and Kate in the club scenes where they go to watch Leon’s band play. She’s only seen briefly in the background, and I missed it the first time. It’s not really significant, I guess, except to make me wonder about this club and how inclusive it is and what our Betty might have gotten up to there. :)
            2. Kate told Leon in their piano scene that her father had apologized, but when did he do this? We saw him surprise her and their scene until Betty showed up. So that implies that they had another meeting which the audience wasn’t privy to (unless I’m over-thinking or the writers didn’t really mean anything by the dialog). I guess that seems important to me because he obviously was made aware of Betty’s hostility in the first meeting; if he spent time with Kate after that, but before the piano scenes, had he already started to disparage Betty and the “sin he saw in her” to Kate? I don’t know, but by the time we see their final scene, her father had surely had enough time to work on her (emotionally for sure, and perhaps even physically); Kate’s speech to Betty sounded very “rehearsed,” and then his “tell her, Marion” after Betty declares her love, definitely sounds like he had already given her the words that she says in response.
            Those aren’t necessarily new or significant observations, but I do wonder what happened in the scenes with her father that we didn’t see. Maybe we’ll find out in season 2 how much he influenced Kate’s behavior in her last two scenes with Betty.
            3. Totally random thought, but it struck me this weekend how Betty/Kate sort of remind me of Idgie and Ruth from Fried Green Tomatoes. A period setting with a tomboy crushing on the more traditional, religious girl, who (at least in Ruth’s marriage) suffered emotional and physical abuse… That part’s fine, I just hope there’s no forced marriage and no pregnancy :(

  2. v says:

    Just wanted to say that I really enjoy reading your reviews for the show. There’s some great insight here and so many little things I missed. Like the poster above, I’m an American so it’s hard to find any discussions about the episodes. Thanks so much for your work!

    I wonder, what do you think of Lorna? Is she justified in all that she’s done?

    • Thank you for your feedback, v, it’s really nice to hear!

      I realize I barely mentioned Lorna at all in this review of the finale, but there’s certainly plenty to talk about! I’m still kind of undecided about her. I’m not sure if justified is the word I’d use, but I guess I can understand some of her motivations. Marco is the first man in a long time who actually sees her as anything other than a “server” – whether in her role as wife, mother, or factory worker. Not that I’m saying it was a good thing for her to cheat on her husband, but her marriage didn’t seem exactly happy at the beginning of the season, so I can see how she would respond readily to Marco’s attentions.

      That being said, I think it was a pretty bad judgment call to forge a pregnancy test in order to save her job and simultaneously get Gladys booted out of the factory. I can see why she did it, but…not okay, Lorna! No matter how much you hate that Witham girl! And hard as she may try to convince Bob that the baby is his, I have a feeling he’s going to find out the truth (if he doesn’t have an inkling already). Plus, didn’t they say that pregnant women can’t work in the factory at all? Even if people think it’s Bob’s baby, she’ll still be out of a job sooner or later. Lorna told Marco her life was over, and I can understand where she’s coming from: her situation pretty much sucks.

      Where do you stand on Lorna? Do you find her a sympathetic character? And did your opinion of her change over the course of the season, given all the twists and turns?

  3. Charlotte, I’m responding to your latest comment down here because I can’t continue the above thread for some reason. It’s really too bad that you can’t find a reliable place to watch the first three episodes…I take it the Global TV website doesn’t work in the U.S.? That’s where I watched the pilot because I missed it on TV (and let’s face it, I’ve re-watched some eps as well!) Hmm, I’m not sure where else you could find it, but the whole series is definitely worth watching.

    Now onto your comments about Kate’s discussions with her father. We might never know how much he said or did to her off-camera, but it’s clear that he influences her greatly in her dealings with Betty in the last ep. Kate and Betty are very close friends regardless of any romantic interest, so even granting that Kate was frightened by Betty’s show of affection, I don’t think she would have reacted as she did in the hallway had she not been essentially fed the lines by her father (she’s probably been fed those lines her whole life!). The words just don’t seem like hers. That’s why her eyes are so telling – while she spouts off all this judgement in the language of her father, her eyes belie everything she’s saying. On the other hand, she did try to prevent Betty from hitting her father after he struck her (and I can’t blame Betty for the impulse), but that may have had more to do with wanting to keep Betty out of harm’s way than to protect her father. After all, Kate knows what the man is capable of. I guess all I can say is: come baaaack, Kate!

    P.S. I love Fried Green Tomatoes! At times Bomb Girls also reminds me of A League of Their Own – very different story but same time period and issues of women taking over men’s jobs during the war.
    -J

    • Oh, and I hope that they leave the setting in Canada for season 2 as well! It wouldn’t really make sense if we followed the boys shipping off to war; the show has always focused on the home front, the Victory Munitions factory, and the women who work in it. Plus it’s not all that often that we get to see Canadian cities as themselves in TV shows or movies, so it’s kind of exciting to see Toronto and the surrounding area depicted in Bomb Girls. :)

  4. Kat says:

    I just read though your review and the discussion with Charlotte. You both raise a lot of great point, lots of which i my self have thought about. I like Charlotte are not a Canadian and have therefor not seen the show on tv. I found out about it though afterellen.com read the mentioned interview with one of the writers and watched part of the Betty/Kate story on youtube. I later acquired the episodes to watch (not easy from Denmark i might add! ) I not only fell in love with Betty and Kate’s stories but also the rest of the characters. The show is very well written and i don’t feel like there are take any “shortcuts” with the characters stories like most american shows tend to do, i think it was Charlotte who mentioned this concern too. I sincerely hope that the second season will stay as real and honest as the first have been.

    I Want to add a point i feel you missed in your discussion of Betty’s awareness of her sexuality. I don’t remember which episode it is, but when they film Betty for the movie, there are different episodes where Betty shows her awareness of the difference. The one with there house where she explains she would love to have a house on her own, to which a confused Kate replies that that is what husbands are for, which suggest she never imagined that you could live without a man.
    Another part is when they have shown the movie and she talks with Lorna, she says something like “shows you what freak i am, they had to make up a whole set of lies about me” when she later pushes the director i got a feeling he knew about her sexuality.

    • Thanks for joining in the conversation, Kat! I love that Bomb Girls has made its way to Denmark!!

      I agree with you about those moments when Betty’s sexuality becomes more apparent to the viewers, and maybe even to herself. I really love the moment with Kate when Betty says she dreams of having a house of her own. Kate’s reaction shows how much that perspective just wasn’t considered at the time, and also how much the war changed women’s roles and what they thought was possible. Kate has been raised in a strictly patriarchal environment where women would be expected to find a husband and settle down. Betty represents a new way of thinking, not just in terms of her sexuality, but in terms of what she is willing to dream about – what she thinks can be achieved. She pushes the boundaries of female independence and I think Kate is a bit in awe of that.

      That’s also why the last scene is so sad: after Kate leaves, Betty begins to question whether that dream is actually possible or whether it’s just a lie. Still, I have a feeling she’ll keep on fighting for it…it’s not like Betty to give up!

      Thanks again for commenting, and regards from Canada!
      -J

      • Kat says:

        I think that Gladys will help with Betty’s faith in her dreams. It is my guess that she might travel til Betty to find Kate, she did just get her fiances car. I love how strong Gladys is and do what she believes to be right, and not being bound by what is expected of her. Whether it is working the factory floor, making a suggestion box or standing up for soldiers right to quality food. She is a strong willed women raised to be quite and do what is expected of her but does what she believes is the right thing to do not for herself but for others. Betty whom also is a strong willed women but struggles with what is right and what is not mostly regarding to her feelings. Which is a hard thing to face even in today’s world can only imagine how though it must have been then, when it was not a generally accepted feeling.

        I do think that one of the reason why the show is so popular is that it represent the changing gender roles. It is partly why i enjoy the show so much, it show how hard it was to change that perspective of gender roles. As a younger generation (I’m 22) it is generally hard to imagine how women would accept being dependent on a man where we today see a lot of independent women with careers. I find the struggle these women went though very intriguing, and changing history like that. I think the subject of equality, which can be directly linked to the differences in gender roles among so many others, is a immortal subject. Like the forbidden love in Romeo and Juliet.

        On a side note I figured you would like that the show made it to Denmark.

        • Yes, I really hope we’ll get to see a Gladys-Betty road trip as they search for Kate together next season! I have really loved watching their relationship develop as well. Gladys really proved to Betty over the course of the season that she was a hard worker, a kind and supportive person, and someone who is not content to let injustice stand. Betty’s nickname for Gladys ,”princess”, has gone from an insult to a teasing show of affection. They’re good friends by the last episode, and they’re both strong, independent (and really cool) women in their own right.

          I wonder where season 2 will resume in terms of the timeline. Do you think they’ll pick up right where they left off in late 1941/early 1942, or will they let some time elapse before carrying on the story? Will Betty and Gladys already have searched for Kate? Will Lorna be much farther along in her pregnancy? Hmmm, questions questions…. :)
          -J

          • Kat says:

            Ahh good question, I hadn’t thought about that, i think if they let time pass we would miss some of the struggles the women will go though mostly Betty’s “outing”. I think there will be a time elapse mostly to bring out Lornas pregnancy. Can’t wait for the next season to start.

            Do you have any show and or movies you could recommend while we wait for new episodes?

          • Yes I agree, I definitely want to see the journey that Betty will have to go through after her “secret” has come out. It would also be really interesting to see some more scenes from Kate’s perspective (Charlotte and I were discussing how we know less about her point of view than a lot of the other characters). I’m really excited for season 2 as well!!

            Hmm other movies or TV shows to tide you over… in the discussion above we were talking about Fried Green Tomatoes and A League of Their Own and I think there are certain Bomb Girls-ish elements in both of those movies. (Plus they’re just really good films!) We at The Viewing Party are of course into the TV show Castle, so if you feel like a somewhat fluffy murder-mystery with lots of great romantic tension then I’d have to recommend it! And if you like the Canadian-ness of Bomb Girls, then you could check out Slings and Arrows, an amazing Canadian TV show that’s about the backstage workings of a Shakespeare theatre company and the crazy wonderful people who populate it.
            -J

  5. Kat says:

    Yeah it would be great to see things from her perspective, maybe even see some “history” from each of the girls to see where they each came from. We mostly got to see where Gladys came/comes from.

    I have watched A League of their own many times, fell in love with it when i was 15 i think. Such an amazing movie can never get enough of it. Never got around to watch Green Fried Tomatoes but iv’e heard about it before. I think ill watch that one now.
    I’m a bit tired of murder mysteries kinda why i haven’t watched castle yet, watch so many other murder mystery show. My mother loves it and want to to watch it too, might need to start now.
    Never hear about Slings and Arrows, but ill definitely try it out,
    Thanks for all the awesome suggestions!

  6. First of all Kate has to return, she is the only woman on the show with an actual talent; her singing brings a light to the series that it appears none of the other characters has the ability to bring. But what would be an even more interesting twist is if Kate’s passion for singing leads her to develop a very “close” relationship with the African American factory worker who once saved her from rape. How taboo would that be??? It would definitely be something to see Betty’s reaction to that relationship; because at this point she hasn’t a leg to stand on! It would be nice to know a little more about Betty and how she got so messed up. Who did what to her? Who made her develop such a tough skin and mistrust for men? Sexual abuse? I think there is a lot to be explored there.

    Vera is a good lady, but it would be nice to see her with a younger man who could bring some life back into her; to see the light come back into those cold eyes and some real warmth. Marco could be good for her; besides her husband is already hanging out with the widow and her kid. As for Gladys and her fiance (what’s his name? Any who!) he should definitely not return from the war or at least a long MIA. I think it would be nice to see Gladys spread her wings a little and experience life, after her parents have had such a tight leash on her.

Leave a Reply

